Retrieving Information from Evernote

I'll try to be as succinct as possible here, though my question isn't one that can be answered in a sentence or two -- I don't think. First off, I've been using Evernote for a long time. I'm using a new account now which is why I probably show up as a relatively new member in this forum, but I've posted and lurked on these forums for years. 

I store a lot of information in Evernote. For personal use I have instruction manuals, bills, receipts, school notes, photos documenting a process -- a lot of stuff. I also house a lot of work documents within Evernote -- emails, reference guides, notes to myself about how I did something (I work in IT) etc. 

I guess what I came here to inquire about is the fact that I'm beginning to question not the usefulness of Evernote, but my efficiency in using it. It feels like Evernote usage is severely lopsided as I spend 90% of the time putting stuff into it and 10% of the time retrieving information. I guess there is enough space to go around so I can see the argument for just throwing everything at it, but I sometimes find the retrieval part cumbersome and frustrating -- especially on mobile (iOS). 

Here's an example -- at work I sometimes hold meetings in our conference room. I like to remotely connect to my PC from the meeting so I can demo things so I need to know my computer's IP address. I store it in Evernote, of course. When I type "Work IP Address" into the search bar (iOS) it returns my note called "Work IP Address" as the ninth item. To me, since I matched the note title exactly, it should be the first item in the list that's returned.