Linked Notebooks

Guest Candy

Instead o f having to add a new notebook or put a whole notebook or note into one space, it'd be nice to just link a note or notebook. For instance as a teacher I have lesson plans in each subject's notebook. But I'd like to create a space for a school year and only put into that space that year's lessons. I'd also want to keep my organization in place so I can reuse lesson plans in a later year or multiple years. This would also allow for editing a note in one place instead of copying and having multiple versions.

• Level 5*
1 hour ago, Guest Candy said:

I'd also want to keep my organization in place so I can reuse lesson plans in a later year or multiple years. This would also allow for editing a note in one place instead of copying and having multiple versions.

A difference between notebooks and tags is that you can only assign one notebook per note;
multiple tags can be assigned to a note

If 2016, 2017, 2018 are tags
- a lesson plan note can be assigned all three years
- a student information note can be assigned all three years

I currently use my tags for years and terms, but not sure using tags translates to the new Spaces. Otherwise I wouldn't have a good use for the Spaces design without this format. Using it the way you propose wouldn't streamline the view in any way.

• Level 5*
12 hours ago, phacademy said:

not sure using tags translates to the new Spaces

Sorry, I missed your requirement "space for a school year"
I'm not a Business user and don't use Spaces.  My understanding is it's a collaboration tool, and you pin Notes and Notebooks.  

Search/Views are not shared, but tags are still functional; users would continue to set up their own searches and shortcuts