How I use Evernote, in three parts

Kvistgaard

This is my first entry in this forum. I have been using Evernote for 7 years now. I haven't read anything on that (book, article, or discussion) so far, but as many people asked me to share how I use Evernote, I decided to do it before I join the community. I have explained my practice in three blog posts:

How I use Evernote, Part 1 – Note Creation

How I use Evernote, Part 2 – Kanban Boards

How I use Evernote, Part 3 – Classification and Wishlist

I'd love to "hear" your reactions, ideas, recommendations.

Ivo

• Level 5*
On 2017-10-09 at 3:01 AM, Kvistgaard said:

You mentioned tag hierarchy, but this feature is only available on the Mac/Win platforms
I make use of it to organize my tags, but I also define a hierarchy by prefixing my tagnames
For example,
- my four major categories are ?Who !What @Where .When and I use the same prefix on all the tag names
- all my vendor tagnames are prefixed with ?Vndr_

I don't want to auto tag with parent tags
It is useful in some searches (a Windows feature) and I use this in scripting (Mac)

Your third classification method was ad-hoc and saved searches
I'd like to emphasize the importance of this, and the use of shortcuts
Using a saved search gives us freedom to structure the criteria in many dimensions; tag, notebook, date, text ...

As you noted, by design, a note can not be assigned to multiple notebooks; unlike tags
imho this indicates that Notebooks and Tags serve different purposes. I use tags for classification

Be aware of the limits for Notebooks (250) and Tags (100,000).  
Bad things happen when you have too many notebooks

• Level 5*
On 2017-10-09 at 3:01 AM, Kvistgaard said:

You mentioned your default notebook is called .Log, and you forward emails appending ! so tasks appear as a reminder

I'm not clear on the significance of the name Log, I use the name @Inbox, and it's strictly for collection, no processing (GTD 101)