Note contents deleted while copying

Hi everyone, 

This is my first question on this forum. 

I am an author and I have one note in which I keep my writing ideas - they run into several thousand. Just to take a backup, I regularly copy those ideas and mail themselves to my several emails ids so that they are saved and available multiple places. About an hour ago, today when I tried to copy that note, the evernote app in my Mac (Macbook Air Early 2014 with latest Sierra) stopped responding for some time. When after about 10-15 mins, I returned to evernote, it had started working. But that whole note had got deleted. (I have a Time Machine backup that I had taken two days ago, so, I haven't lost everything, hopefully - just two days data.).

I am 100% sure that I didn't press Cmd-x or any other delete command. Based on the discussion I found here https://discussion.evernote.com/topic/26381-help-need-to-restore-text-deleted-from-a-note/, I found that the only way to recovery is to upgrade to the premium version immediately. 

But I had a few questions:

1. Is there any way to recover it without going premium?

2. What might have caused the whole note to become empty when copying it? Is there an upper limit to how many characters can be put in one note - it probably had some 5000 ideas with each being about 10 words, so 50000 words or so?

3. What is a safe way of copying contents of an evernote note and saving it in other places? Share just gives the link, I would like to share the whole content. 

Thanks in advance.  

• Level 5*
16 hours ago, Chatchan said:

I think you're referring to access to the Note History backup
You could run your own backups.  My backup runs nightly; incremental for changed notes
I could run this several times a day to try and match the Evernote backup frequency

2. What might have caused the whole note to become empty when copying it?

No ideas.  There's no max chararacters, but there's a max size limit depending on your account level