iOS app version 8.0 crashes on launch

I just updated the Evernote app to version 8, and it crashes on launch. I force quit the app and re-launched and got the same result. I restarted the iPhone ( 6S plus running 10.2(14C92) ) and got the same result. Another suggestions besides a reinstall, I don't want to download 7GB of data again.

Would a crash report help? I can upload one if needed.

I went ahead and submitted a support ticket, so please ignore the post if needed.

• Replies 225
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I was able to send a crash log with my ticket, so hopefully they can fix it soon.

Support just emailed me and wants me to re-install the app.

I told them I am a Pro user since 2008 and have about 8GB of notes synced to my iPhone & iPad which I would rather not have to download again.

I asked if there was another solution.

Hi everyone, 

Our development team has been made aware of this crash issue. Thanks for taking the time to swing by and report it. 

If rebooting your device does not resolve the issue, a reinstall will. 

To reinstall Evernote for iOS follow these steps:

1. From the home screen, tap and hold the Evernote icon until it starts to jiggle
2. Tap X, then Delete
3. Restart your iOS device
4. Download Evernote from the App Store

If this does not resolve the issue, please let us know by posting here!

Right, they told me a re-install might fix the issue, but the bottom line is I sync all my notes and notebooks to my iPhone and iPad. Re-downloading 8 GB on both devices is a pain in the a$$. You understand how this does not look good for Evernote. I'm sure some Q&A is done before releasing the update, but this is crazy. I'd rather wait and not use Evernote and see if the 8.1 update fixes it. 

Either way support should find other solutions rather than the "stock" reply of re-install the app.I'm not mad at you the messenger, just the company.

• Ellen G pinned and featured this topic
8 minutes ago, Kiwiguy said: