embedding Jupyter/iPython notebooks

shmoopie

Idea

11 replies to this idea

• Level 5*

What is a " Jupyter/iPython notebook"? Is it a web link? Is it an ".ipynb" JSON file (https://jupyter.readthedocs.io/en/latest/architecture/how_jupyter_ipython_work.html#notebooks)? Where are they normally stored? How do you normally interact with them?

If it's a link, you can add them to a note. If it's a file, you can add them to your note.

How do you envision this all working?

Please forgive me, because I am a scientist and not a computer-scientist/engineer or any kind of professional developer.

There are two methods that I interact with the notebooks, stored on an external server and stored on my local machine via a conda installation.

I use Evernote because it acts as a well interfaced index, and has some nice things in notes and has the ability to attach documents when needed; it makes me MUCH more efficient due to the remote nature of the notes, so I can be at an experiment or meeting and simply lookup something I did previously.  This is one layer of my work flow and directly on the files of my computer is another.

I can provide more detail, but if there was some way to attach and interact with notebook files through Evernote, is what I'm wanting.  That way, I could do a search that includes the contents of my iPython notebook, and view the already-executed, static contents from my different Evernote devices.  Then, if I'm on a device with the appropriate Python kernel and Jupyter install, I could do my notebook work flow.  For the notebooks on remote servers, I don't have a good idea of how that would work, presently I just include a link for those cases.

Is this a ridiculous fantasy?  Is there some quasi-implementation possible with the existing infrastructure?

Thanks~

• Level 5*