How to recover not after deletion & empty trash?

Hello,

I can't find a note today.  This note has over six months of home projects, to do lists, etc., so I know what keywords to search for to find it.  It is gone.  I recently emptied the trash, and because I was in a hurray (and feeling particularly stupid) I did NOT review the titles of the notes in the trash prior to deletion, like I usually do.  Lazy and stupid.

I am using the free version of Evernote on a Mac.  Is there anything I can do to recover the note?  If I upgrade to premium, can the Evernote team help me recover the note via email support? I did some searches that mentioned hexedit'ing the database.  I am an engineer, so I know what hexed is (on Unix)  Where is the database file?  Do I need to go into Time Machine to get a prior version of the database before I deleted the note?

I would appreciate any help!

Gary

• Level 5*
47 minutes ago, SanDiegoGary said:

I can't find a note today.  This note has over six months of home projects, to do lists, etc., so I know what keywords to search for to find it.  It is gone.  I recently emptied the trash, and because I was in a hurray (and feeling particularly stupid) I did NOT review the titles of the notes in the trash prior to deletion, like I usually do.  Lazy and stupid.

I am using the free version of Evernote on a Mac.  Is there anything I can do to recover the note?  If I upgrade to premium, can the Evernote team help me recover the note via email support? I did some searches that mentioned hexedit'ing the database.  I am an engineer, so I know what hexed is (on Unix)  Where is the database file?  Do I need to go into Time Machine to get a prior version of the database before I deleted the note?

One quick solution is to look in a folder called Purgatory (really)Untitled.jpeg
Deleted notes go there before they're truly gone
This is raw note data; no metadata, only note content

Purgatory is in your database folder
To locate the database folder