FEATURE REQUEST: Tagging portions of text

hibou

Idea

Good evening,

As a researcher I deal with large amounts of texts using dedicated apps like Nvivo or Atlas.ti, or for lit Qiqqa. the principle of theses QADQAS or ref manager is the same: tagging portions of texts with nodes/tags/categories so then you can do a transversal reading of all your data by category or topic. I would love to have this feature in Evernote, which I use mainly to type in and archive my field notes and web article clips. So far you can tag an entire note, but you cannot assign a particular bit of text to a tag, this is really too bad in my opinion. Other note taking software allow this feature (Microsoft couterpart) and many of my colleagues have now either started or migrated to that other software partly because they do support tagging datum/particuler selections of text. But overall I love Evernote so I wish we could have this feature in a near future.

This is a long shot, but if you are a user who would also like this feature please do not hesitate to reply to this post to show your support to this request.

Thanks

• Like 1

11 replies to this idea

I think this would be really useful, as I might take notes from a particular meeting, want to keep that all together in a single note, but some of the notes I've written to myself are side notes or thoughts that might be essentially a different topic/tag.  (IE, I'm in a design meeting, and have some project management notes, or leadership notes, or learning/research topics, etc.,).

It would also be useful if there was a way to display just that block of text when I search on the tag [perhaps being able to click through to the whole note, but not needing to read the full note just to get the relevant text]

• Level 5*
4 hours ago, hibou said:

So far you can tag an entire note, but you cannot assign a particular bit of text to a tag

I've moved this to the feature requests forum so that it can be better addressed.