Feature request: Shortcuts in Mac (top) menu bar

pirafrank

Idea

Hi everyone,

I've thought about adding shortcuts as an item in Mac (top) menu bar, like 'Bookmarks' in Chrome or Firefox. It could help gaining some screen space by making them quickly accessible while keeping the sidebar hidden. This would be really nice especially using the Side List View on little screen laptops (e.g. rMB, 13" rMBP) as you'd see more details in columns (tags, etc.).

Cheers,

Frank

6 replies to this idea

On July 14, 2016 at 5:53 PM, gazumped said:

In Windows Desktop,  right-clicking the 'Shortcuts' heading drops a little menu to show Shortcuts in the toolbar / show them in a separate toolbar / hide them altogether...

Yes and it's an absolutely killer feature.  I've been using Windows Desktop at work for the past several months....and it's SO good.  I prefer it now over the Mac client.  There really needs to be another option for shortcuts.  Macs support customizable toolbars and users here have been begging for more options for years.  Being able to put our shortcuts up there would be fantastic.  Right now, I feel like there's just a lot of wasted space in the Mac client.

WastedSpace.png

I too think making the Mac client more like the Windows client is a great idea.  I recently moved from Window to Mac and while most programs/UI are superior on the Mac, sadly Evernote's is not.  I use Evernote heavily on a daily basis and the time I am spending scrolling back to the top of the list to get to my shortcuts is beyond frustrating...especially since it should (by all accounts) be trivial to either put them in the toolbar or allow us to add them to the tool bar.

• Level 5*
30 minutes ago, Paul McGrane said:

Any movement on this...actually considering looking at other platforms and the absence of this feature negatively effects my workflow

Can't see shortcuts across the top as an improvement, and I'd turn off the option