Notebooks & Tags to organize the stuff I do

John_H67

I'm fairly new to Evernotes and have been reading through the forums to try and work out how to best use it for my situation. 

My main use will be to organize the things I do at home/leisure plus keep all the documents that I seem to need to keep my life running. So I made a list of things that I think I want to organize:

• Things I do - Webclips, Project Notes, todo lists ect
  1. Fishing
  2. IT/Electronics Stuff
  3. Sailing/Kayaking
  4. Carvaning
  5. Gardening
  6. Woodwork/Metalwork
  7. Home Repairs/Improvements
  8. Holiday Planning

• Documents - Stuff I want to keep/track/refer to
  1. Copies of important documents like insurance, wills, certificates etc
  2. Tax related documents
  3. Bank statements/Superanuation
  4. Receipts and Warranty info for stuff I buy
  5. Manuals for Stuff I buy
  6. Bills & Subscriptions

So in terms of Notebooks and tags, I was thinking of having three Notebooks

• Inbox
  • Things I do
  • Important Documents

And then create a heap of tags for everything.  But I will be manning using an iPad to manage all this and from what I can tell, having too many tags on iOS will make things a bit hard to manage.

Any recommendations on how I should tackle this?

You could also use notebooks, especially if you wanted to put your interests in separate areas. For myself, I find it helps to do that so I can browse a category like a hobby. On the other hand, some categories l know I will never browse so they can get lumped into one notebook. I also have some notebooks that I know will exist only for a limited time. 

If I had your list, I'd probably put 1-4, 6  and 8 on your first list in their own notebooks. Then I'd create a household notebook that would hold 5 and 7 on that list as well as everything on the second list. 

• Level 5*
On April 7, 2016 at 9:47 PM, John_H67 said: