Disable Rich Text / Markup for all Notes

ClintM

Idea

Please up-vote this feature request if you agree! Thank you!

Im coming from Simplenote and love the fact that all of my notes are in Plain Text by default. I'm a Web Developer by trade and can't stand Rich Text or Markup because both are awful for note taking. With Evernote, I'm able to attach images and documents to my notes which is awesome. I'm also able to organize my notes into folders (Notebooks) which isn't possible with Simplenote. Being that both of those options are so useful, I'm thinking about switching to Evernote.

So far, I don't think I have the option to disable Rich Text / Markup with Evernote which is absurd. I would also like to purchase Evernote so that I can password protect my notes, but I have already spent far too much time fighting the app trying to remove the auto formatting which is beginning to drive me crazy.

Taking notes in plain text is so much easier than using Rich Text / Markup in my opinion, and it seems like Evernote forces users to use Rich Text instead of giving us the choice to disable it. For example, I always use 1. 2. 3. etc. to organize my notes. With Evernote, it always indents these numbers by default and then I have to fight the app to work the way I want (I don't want these numbers indented).

Is there a way to disable formatting for all documents so that all of my notes are in plain text? I have the Evernote app downloaded on my Mac and have gone thru the preferences. I can't figure it out. If this isn't possible, it's a deal breaker, and switching to Evernote simply won't work for me.

Thank you for your time.

11 replies to this idea

• Level 5*

Hi.  Don't think there's a way to 'disable' layout,  but the auto formatting isn't 'markup',  it's just an auto-reaction to a very limited number of specific formats triggering the formatting.