Feature Request: More functional tables!

VincentHAN

Idea

I've been using evernote for about 3 years now and I've had a great experience so far! However, the only problem that I encounter on a daily basis is that the tables function in evernote is too primitive. It doesn't allow me to merge cells or create more functional tables like excel. It'd be great if evernote could improve on this feature! 

13 replies to this idea

• Level 5*

I agree that, while we don't need the Excel formula feature, it would be very useful and productive to have basic table layout/management features like:

• Copy or Move (Cut/Insert) a Row or Column
  • Select a Row or Column, and then apply formatting
  • Sort rows in Table for specified column
  • Insert a Table in the cell of another table
  • Insert a Horizontal Line in any cell
  • Merge Cells (lower priority)

And equally important, make sure copy/paste between Evernote and MS Excel and Word (both directions) works really well.

• Level 5*

>>more functional tables like excel

When I need excel features, I use a spreadsheet app, I don't expect to find them in a note taking app.

I do find it nice that EN has the table feature, and has made it much more functional than in earlier versions.

My wish would be that this function is extended to the iPad so that we can add/delete rows and columns.

The question I've always asked about the table feature is why.  Why bother?  The latest update hasn't changed my opinion and, as a matter of fact, I'm even more puzzled.  In essence tables are a tab delimited note with lines.  Apparently a one column sort is a bridge too far for the the crack Evernote programmers.  This kind of thing would never have happened if Libin was still running things <g>.

• Level 5*

This kind of thing would never have happened if Libin was still running things <g>.

Are you kidding?  Libin is most likely, directly or indirectly, the reason Evernote has such poor support for tables.