Importing Notes from MS Word List

I'm a newbie, just using Evernote Basic. (I don't mind paying for a better version, but first I want to see how useful it is.)   I have a list of contacts, roughly categorized, in an MS Word document that now runs 40-odd pages.  Only separated by carriage returns. 

I want to import these into Evernote Basic as Notes. Anyone have any idea how to do this efficiently?  I can drag and/or cut and paste, but this has proven very time-consuming with the first half-page!  Thanks.

• Level 5*

I haven't used this in a while,  so I don't know how easy it would be with current versions of Office,  but it's pretty easy (I think) to set up a 'mail merge' in Word and Excel,  using a Word document as a template,  and the address (and other) details in Excel,  and to pipe the results of this mail merge to individual document files rather than a printer.  Something like printing index cards or address labels with extra information added.  If you can get your contacts as lines of plain text into separate documents,  you'll be able to import those files into Evernote.

Windows users get an Import Folder to move files into Evernote,  There's no similar function in the Mac client yet,  but various script options are available,  including this one - http://veritrope.com/evernote-desktop-folder/ 

Other workarounds for Mac are discussed here https://discussion.evernote.com/topic/29948-evernote-auto-import-folder-for-mac-os-x/

If you're good with scripts you may be able to work out something less round-about.  ;)

Hope that may help...

• Level 5*

I'm a newbie, just using Evernote Basic. (I don't mind paying for a better version, but first I want to see how useful it is.)   I have a list of contacts, roughly categorized, in an MS Word document that now runs 40-odd pages.  Only separated by carriage returns.