Please don't kill the list view

johnmarshall4

Idea

Every few years you guys try and kill list view. Last time it was the Mac client and now the new web client. Please don't.  Many of us use that view. It is very useful to see my note's tag and dates at the same time.

24 replies to this idea

An option to seeing the tags in the list view would be hugely helpful for me.

I'm a writer. I used to give each writing project its own notebook. Eventually that got cumbersome as the old ones long since completed were in the list every time I wanted to move a note to a notebook. So instead of notebooks I've started to use a tag for each project name and put all the project notes in one Projects notebook, and the notes for the completed ones in an Archived Notes notebook. (I still want a proper archiving option, but that's another discussion.) 

But lots of notes for planning fiction projects will have the same title, though for different projects - "Outline" "Character List" "Locations" etc. So if I'm working on a couple of projects at once, then I either have to include the project name in the title or show the snippets so I can check if that's the Outline for project A or project B etc. Or I have to look at notes tagged for one or the other project, rather than just All Notes, where I can hop quickly between the notes for current projects, which will usually be up at the top of Most Recently Updated.

Anyway, that's why I'd like to be able to see tags in the list view. As an option of course, since I'm sure plenty of people don't want to see tags in that view.

• Level 5*
2 hours ago, rimboma said:

So, has listview been removed from both desktop and the web apps?

Still there on the desktop platforms (Mac, Windows)
The issue was with the new web beta version.

On 4/13/2016 at 10:47 AM, schultzter said:

the tags on my notes/to-dos sort consistently