Immediate and longterm storage / back up

I'd like to use Evernote both for storing articles and files I may not need for a while (but as a teacher and writer I just may!) and for the everyday notes, todos, to reads...  Any suggestions on the least clumsy way of arranging this?  Also- showing my ignorance here - does what I save on Evernote take up space on my iPhone- or does it all live somewhere in the cloud unless I download it?

Thanks

• Level 5*

On the iPhone, Evernote stores (by default) ONLY the Note header info (Title, NB, Tags, etc), and pulls the Note content from the EN Cloud when you tap a Note to view it.  So it should not take much space on your iPhone.

BTW, there is an EN iOS option to store Notebooks offline, in which case EN does store the entire contents of the Note in these NBs.

Both EN Win and EN Mac store your entire account (all sync'd notes) on your local hard drive and sync with the EN Cloud.

However, do NOT use or rely upon the EN Cloud as your primary backup.

Your best protection is to do your own backups -- do NOT rely on Evernote.

If you want to backup your Evernote Notes so that you can restore them in case of loss, you have a number of choices.

1. For ease of restore use a local backup system like MS Windows Backup for EN Win, and Time Machine for EN Mac, to backup the Evernote folder on your machine 
  2. For catastrophic protection use an online system like CrashPlan to backup the Evernote folder on your machine
  3. For a true restore, use an online system like Revert.io which backs up your sync'd Notes from the EN Cloud.
    1. This is the only backup process that I know of that provides a true restore.
  4. Export to ENEX files
    1. Export each Notebook to a separate ENEX file, and be sure to check "Include Tags".  It is best to name the ENEX file with your NB name since the ENEX file does NOT contain any NB info.
    2. Evernote provides an import process to pull these exported Notes back into Evernote