Search: AKA the Lack of Hierarchal Folders

I'm new to Evernotes.  SOHO for Macintosh has served me faithfully for years,  but my acquisition of a Chromebook sent me looking for a x-platform program, and pretty quickly I found the complaints centered around note organization in Evernote. While SOHO has a folder hierarchy that will cause note migration to be a chore, I have to say that Evernote's search based system is nothing to fear and is a giant step forward if done with some thought ahead of time.

Consider this:

Lets say each note has 3 keywords out of a possible 10. Then a note can have 720 possible key combinations, and if the keys were chosen wisely so that each combination holds about the same number of notes, 10 notes per key combo allows 7200 notes. Since year is built in, this allows 7200 new notes a year. That should satisfy just about everybody.

So the real trick here is to choose the 10 keywords wisely, before the first note is written.

I start my search for keys with the concepts what, where, why, how in front of me, and then I scanned my SOHO notes for patterns. So far I have:

Personal

Business

Writing

Enviro

Car

$

I'm taking my time to pick my other 4 keys.

And by the way, note grouping is still very easy. I have notes keyed to Enviro that have a common header Emissions. One note is titled 

Emissions:CARB:Prius and keyed to Enviro and Car.

Having trouble thinking in broad categories for keys ? Take a peek at Roget's Thesaurus for some inspiration.

• Level 5*