How to make a To Do list?

I'm wondering how other users  use Evernote as a ToDo list?

I'm finding it a bit clunky but there must be a better way. Here's what I do: 

1. all of my projects (I am a Landscape Architect) have a Project Number.

2. I made a Notebook for each project (1594 North Bay Village, for example).

3. Then, in each Notebook, I make a new Note called, for example, '1594 North Bay Village Tasks'; I used the check box to indicate if the work has been done.

There has got to be a better way. It's clunky on my iMac and it's clunky on the iPhone. It's clunky making new notes, and it is especially clunky making a list of all tasks that haven't been completed.

Any ideas?

• Level 5*

Hi.  While it's possible to use Evernote for simple to-do lists,  as you note it's not exactly easy if you're involved with projects.  Why not try one of the independent apps that integrate with Evernote?  Keep done/ not done in the app and link to work orders,  letters,  plans and invoices in EN Notes.  I use TickTick,  but there are others...

• Level 5*

If you are looking for simple, Wunderlist enables subtasks.  Task can be project, and then subtasks can be the actual work.  Free and works across platforms.  Not clear how much detail you want in your tasks/notes.  FWIW

• 1 month later...

I am a PM and I also use Evernote with multiple projects but have gone back to pen and paper for the to do lists as I find it easier to organize my notes/tasks the old fashion way rather than try and create something new that is more time consuming and in the end, less productive. Its great to be able to grab various emails, photos, documents and throw them in an Evernote Notebook (i.e. Project) but the real power of getting things done, being organized and productive is being able to tackle a to do list from notes gathered across multiple Notebooks.