Everfiler – a better automated filing script

quickshot12

Idea

Hi Everyone,

I've created a new (bash) script to automate the filing of documents to Evernote in the background with support for Mac OS X tags – I'm calling it Everfiler.

The benefits of this script over other solutions I've found is two fold:

1. I can deal with a file once (not once in Finder, once in EN) as I add tags when saving the file in Finder
  2. The file upload to EN happens in the background (via email) and doesn't take over my computer
It is designed to be used with Hazel (http://www.noodlesoft.com/hazel.php) and/or Apple's Automator but I'm sure someone could adapt it to work with other apps.

Download

I'm releasing it into the wild so others can benefit from it and even improve on it. You can download the script at: https://github.com/ryanaspire/everfiler

Disclaimer

I'm a scripting novice. This is the result of days of googling + trial and error so I can't guarantee it won't nuke your machine.

Help Wanted

For someone who knows what they are doing, I see some areas where it could be improved:

• I'm having trouble running this as a Shell script from Hazel. When I run it as an Automator script via Hazel, it works but this is clunky and the execution is slower.
  • My home ISP blocks port 25 so [mail] doesn't work. Setting up Mutt is a pain. Would love to find a simpler solution
  • Currently the Pushover notification fires a success notification unconditionally. Would be great to have a success/error notification. Other Push Notification options could also be added.

2 replies to this idea

• Level 5*

I've created a new (bash) script to automate the filing of documents to Evernote in the background with support for Mac OS X tags – I'm calling it Everfiler.

The benefits of this script over other solutions I've found is two fold:
  1. I can deal with a file once (not once in Finder, once in EN) as I add tags when saving the file in Finder