Problem Searching PDFs -- OCR Issue?

KikoTerrier

Idea

I am new to Evernote -- I am trying to use it to help me go paperless.  I am using a Doxie Scanner.  I have a premium Evernote membership.

The scanner allows me to send PDFs with or without OCR.

When I send without OCR, my pdfs are only searchable on the web.  They are not searchable in the Mac app.

When I have the scanner send with OCR, the pdfs are searchable in the Mac app.

Any ideas as to why this is happening?  At first, I thought it was because I was waiting for Evernote to index the document, but that does not explain why the document is searchable on the web.

Also, regardless of how I scan, the information tab on all of my pdfs says "1 pdf has not been indexed."

Many thanks for any assistance.

10 replies to this idea

• Level 5*

With a premium membership,  your PDFs should be OCR'd and searchable.  An approximation of the full rules is:

Premium subscribers only
Filesize 50MB or less,
100 pages or less
No “searchable” text - characters that can be selected and copied
No encryption
Not a handwritten document.

The OCR has to be completed and synced back to a device before the document can be searched.

If you're meeting all the above terms and still not seeing a searchable PDF file,  you should definitely submit a support request!

• Level 5*

When I send without OCR, my pdfs are only searchable on the web.  They are not searchable in the Mac app.

When I have the scanner send with OCR, the pdfs are searchable in the Mac app.

Any ideas as to why this is happening? 

Evernote requires a Premium Account to OCR a scanned PDF in order to make it searchable.

If you upload a PDF that has already been OCR'd, then evidently Evernote will search that PDF even for Free Accounts.

However, it is unclear whether this is a  official/supported Free Account feature, or an undocumented/unsupported feature for Free accounts.

For now, it appears to work.  But there is no guarantee for future versions.