Desktop user suddenly on malfunctioning Web version

I'm a newbie who had been using Evernote for Mac's desktop application. Now when I access Evernote, (1) the layout looks totally different (e.g. notebooks now in a list on the left rather than as icon stacks on the right). (2)  I can't open a new viewer window; the only choice available is a new notebook.  (3) The toolbar no longer appears at all!

I appear to be on Evernote Web, which I don't recall choosing. Worse, it is malfunctioning so badly I can't use it!  How do I get back to the Evernote for Mac desktop application?

• Level 5*

Well, are you accessing Evernote from your web browser or did you click on an icon on your desktop?  There is a new beta for the web browser that might be what you are seeing.  If you are accessing from your web browser, go to Settings -> Beta -> Go back to old version.  If you can't find an Evernote icon on your desktop you can go to Evernote.com to download and reinstall.

s2sailor, thanks for replying. I tried to follow your advice but was unable to do so. Here's what I did then:

• I accessed Evernote from my web browser and checked my settings. They offered a button for me to get the beta version, from which I concluded the version I had was not the beta one. Also, my order history stated there were no orders on record. (???)

• This is confusing because "About Evernote" says I have version 5.5.2 on my computer.

• I didn't have an icon on my desktop. The icon in the toolbar at the bottom of my screen just led me back to the web version. 

• I didn't see anyplace on Evernote.com to download an old version.

• A Google search led me to evernote.en.uptodown.com. I downloaded the most recent version 4 from it and installed it.