(Archived) What is the best way to store a list of usernames/passwords?

I am new to evernote and loving it so far!

I am in the process of transferring my piles of paper notes into Evernote. I have a paper list I maintain of all my usernames and passwords for all the websites that require registration/membership. Can this be stored safely in Evernote?

Thanks!

You can put them in there & encrypt them I guess, but I am not sure I would be comfortable with that. I would suggest you look into a password manager program. I've used RoboForm on an encrypted thumb drive for years & it works flawlessly.

I don't use Roboform, but definitely agree that it's best to use a password manager for passwords. If you use a PDA or smartphone, you may want to find one that will sync with your device so you have your passwords/PINS/SSNs/etc with you on the go.

I keep some passwords in Evernote by typing them into a note and then selecting them and right-clicking to encrypt them with a passphrase. This is more for archival purposes ... a dedicated password manager will automatically fill in web forms for you, etc., so may be more appropriate for high-volume password usage.

If the auto-fill aspect wasn't required, and password storage was just for record-keeping purposes, is there any reason to think the information would be any less secure in an encrypted note in Evernote, than a dedicated password storage system? Can we know the encryption method used by Evernote to assess its strength against other software?

If the auto-fill aspect wasn't required, and password storage was just for record-keeping purposes, is there any reason to think the information would be any less secure in an encrypted note in Evernote, than a dedicated password storage system? Can we know the encryption method used by Evernote to assess its strength against other software?
When you encrypt text within Evernote, it is encrypted using a password-derived 64-bit key using the RC2 cipher.