Google Authenticator required for EN 2-factor authentication?

I'm new to the idea of 2-factor authentication and I want to set it up for my Evernote account. In the 2fa setup process, I got as far as entering my phone number and a back-up phone number, and I was then prompted to do something with Google Authenticator on either iPhone or Android or Blackberry. It seemed like unless I did that, I couldn't go on with the 2-factor authentication setup. However, I have an old iPhone (a 3G) on which I have iOS 4.2.1, and I'm guessing that's the most recent version of iOS that the phone is compatible with. But  Google Authenticator requires Apple iOS 5.0 or later. So I have several questions:

(1) Does this mean that I can't set up 2-factor authentication for my Evernote account unless I get a phone that Google Authenticator is compatible with?

(2) Why do I need Google Authenticator for 2-factor authentication anyway -- that is, why isn't supplying my phone number and a backup phone number sufficient for 2-factor authentication? -- isn't the first factor my password and the second factor the code that is sent to one of my phone numbers?

(3) More generally, I don't really understand how Google Authenticator works and what it's for. Can someone please explain this in simple terms?

(4) Does Evernote 2-factor authentication not work with Windows Phone?

Thanks for any assistance you can provide.

I can address question 3 in a pretty basic way (I am no expert at all).

The temporary code is generated from a "seed" number that is assigned to your account. This seed number is the starting point for generating random 6-digit codes every 20 seconds. So there is a server sitting there just ticking away, producing a new 6-digit code every 20 seconds. When you want to authenticate, a text message is sent to you with whatever code was just generated at the top of the 20 second mark.