Search Term Capitalization matters

jbenson2

• Level 5
FYI

I am a creature of habit and always use Evernote Search Terms with lower case characters for consistency.

But today, I accidentally typed an upper case and got dramatically different results:

Notebook:leisure  (result 8 notes)

notebook:leisure  (result 4,542 notes)

Apparently Evernote believes the first search is for words starting with Notebook and leisure

But the second search is for the actual Evernote notebook called leisure

Version 5.4.0.3698 (271698) Public

• Level 5

Odd, must be a quirk on the Windows client. Not able to reproduce this on Mac 5.5.1 

Same results regardless of case for "n/Notebook"

Thanks - I can toggle the results back and forth, just by changing the first letter of the Search Term

I submitted a Support Request (Ticket# 547613 ). I'll post their response

• Level 5

Tag, is not case sensitive.

You are correct about the tag case. 

I've been using only lower case for Search Terms since 2010 after reading a post by Brett Kelly (he used to work at Evernote).  

Tip #26: "Choose a singular or plural convention for your tags (“book” v. “books”) and stick with it at all costs and under all circumstances. Ditto for capitalization. Trust me."

• Level 5*

The search grammar (http://dev.evernote.com/doc/articles/search_grammar.php) is silent as to whether search term introducers like "notebook:", "tag:" etc. (that's not the grammar's term) are case-sensitive or not, though some (are specified as mixed-case (e.h. "reminderTime"), which might lead one to believe that they're case-sensitive. But there's no real reason to do so, and plenty of reasons not to, like all of the users who can't remember whether the search is, for example, "reminderTime", "remindertime", or "ReminderTime". Opening a ticket is entirely appropriate, and the search grammar should be updated as well to reflect whether case for these introducers is significant or not.