How to Link to Excel Spreadsheet on Local Computer

Hello, 

I am new to Evernote (5.3.0.3360) and have a simple question. 

In a note, I want to insert a link to a spreadsheet which exists on my computer so that I can view and edit it in the note.

I can right click in the note and use the "Attach Files" option, but that creates a new spreadsheet and puts it in ...Evernote\Databases\Attachments folder.  Now I have 2 spreadsheets.

I only want a link to the original, so that I can edit it in Evernote, or directly from its original location.

Synchronizing it in the cloud is not important.

Can this be done?

Thanks

Mike Thomas

812 331 8657

• Level 5*

You don't mention which OS you're using,  but whatever mechanism you use to create a 'normal' shortcut should work with Evernote - just create a shortcut and drag it into a note.  Be aware that you can only access that spreadsheet from a note in Evernote on the same computer where the spreadsheet is stored.  It's actually more effective to attach the file to an Evernlote note - you can open and re-save the file from and to the note from any computer that has Excel installed.

• Level 5*

Hello, 

I am new to Evernote (5.3.0.3360) and have a simple question. 

In a note, I want to insert a link to a spreadsheet which exists on my computer so that I can view and edit it in the note.

I can right click in the note and use the "Attach Files" option, but that creates a new spreadsheet and puts it in ...Evernote\Databases\Attachments folder.  Now I have 2 spreadsheets.

I only want a link to the original, so that I can edit it in Evernote, or directly from its original location.

Synchronizing it in the cloud is not important.

Can this be done?

Thanks

Mike Thomas

812 331 8657