Tamoko_Pakeha 0 Posted April 9, 2014 Share Posted April 9, 2014 I'm new to evernote, and I'm trying to understand the sync system. I must be misunderstanding something, since I lost a huge amount of work when evernote synced today. If someone could help explain what I did wrong and how to avoid doing so again, I would be grateful. I have evernote installed on my desktop, laptop, and iPhone. Last night I added new tags, notes and notebooks to evernote(laptop) and closed the app. I assumed that since the options have 'Sync changes on exit' active, that the EN server would reflect what was on the laptop. This morning, I opened evernote(iPhone) and found that it did not show any of the work I had done previously. I told it to sync, assuming that it would download the changes from the server, but it did nothing that I could see. When I went back to evernote(laptop) to force a sync to the servers, instead of uploading what was on my laptop, it removed all of the changes to match my iPhone. When I booted up my PC, Evernote(desktop) now shows the same thing as the other two. I'm confused as to what evernote means exactly as 'Sync'. If the server and local app have different versions of a note, notebook, stack, or tag, is it meant to force the local copy to match the server, or overwrite the server to match the local version? It seemed to do both, but in the opposite order to what I was trying to accomplish. If it always goes with the server, then how can anything be changed, since it will simply revert back to the older server version of the item? If it always goes with the local copy, updating the server ,then why did it delete all of my work on evernote(laptop), forcing it to match the older setup? Link to comment
This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.