Todo list - Evernote vs Trello

I've read The Secret Weapon's system for organizing your life using Evernote.

It seems that Evernote is well suited as a digital filing cabinet and note taker. 

However I'm not so sure it fits as a good task/todo list manager:

Since I'm an engineering student all my to-dos come from h.w assignments or reading assignments (email clutter isn't a problem for me). These types of assignments don't require more than the title of a note (for example: 'finish calculus assignment'). Furthermore, when I'm finished with a note it's supposed to go into the 'Completed' notebook. This seems a bit of an overkill for notes that act as a h.w assignment reminders.

Why then does it make sense for me to use Evernote instead of Trello which offers me a visual to-do list?

• Level 5*

Why then does it make sense for me to use Evernote instead of Trello which offers me a visual to-do list?

I'm not a follower of any of the well-known systems for to tasks/todos, so I'm no expert. Evernote is primarily designed as a digital filing cabinet, as you say, but it does have some todo list capabilities. They may or may not meet yours needs, but they do pretty well for mine. I'm a software developer, and Evernote lets me capture documentation and techniques, so that I have a decent reference library easily available to me. I can capture screen shots and debugging info that helps me debug our code base more effectively. I do a weekly journal that gives me a snapshot of what's planned and upcoming in the week, and what I really did. It also lets me capture the tasks that I'm assigned, assign a due date, take notes, refer to the issue's source (a post in our user forum, or an email) and its location in our bug-tracking system: this allows me to keep track of that task and journal the results. And everything's kept in one place, my Evernote account.

Hope that that gives you some ideas for your own use case.

• Level 5*