Combine/copy note checkboxes to to-do list

caseycu

Idea

Hi All,

I am BRAND new to evernote and I was wondering if there was a way to have evernote copy all the checkboxes I make in a note and combine them into a separate note that I could use as a to-do list. That way I could have individual notes from separate meetings, but since all of my check boxes (or tasks) would be copied and combined into one easy access note. If this is not possible, how could I suggest this to Evernote. I would be totally willing to upgrade to premium for this service.

Thanks

Casey

• Like 2

13 replies to this idea

• Level 5

When you ask a question, it is helpful to indicate what O/S you are using.

Here is my view for the Evernote Windows client.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
There is no easy way to extract checkbox details automatically into a single separate note. You could do a copy and paste but that would defeat most of the benefits of using Evernote.

A better method would be to search for what you are looking for.
You can use one of these three search term to find checked items

1.) to find all unfinished items - ones with unchecked checkbox

todo:false

2.) to find the finished items containing a checked checkbox

todo:true

3.) to find all the checkboxes (unfinished and finished)

todo:*

And you can narrow the results by adding additional keywords or tags to the above mentioned searches.

I have found Evernote to be much more powerful if I limit one checkbox per note. You might prefer multiple to do items in one note, just be aware there are some drawbacks. Just my opinion. Other people do this differently.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -