Cannot delete Evernote shortcut from desktop (Win 8.1 Enterprise)

Just installed the client on my work computer and pinned the program to taskbar. I'm trying to delete the shortcut icon from my desktop, but it won't disappear! 

• I've tried dragging it to the trash, but it pops back without any error message.
  • I've tried hitting "Delete" and "Shift+Delete" with same result.
  • Tried moving the shortcut to another folder and got an "Out of memory" error.

I'm a local administrator on my computer and should be able to decide what to show on my desktop.

Anyone have an idea what to do?

• Level 5*

I have the latest beta on my W8 desktop and just deleted the shortcut without a murmur - it's a bit overkill,  but if all else fails I can only suggest Revo uninstall and reinstall (but read up on the details first,  there are a few health warnings..)

On the other hand you could try deleting the icon and hitting F5 (or right-click and 'Refresh') because sometimes the desktop doesn't update properly...

Wordsgood: I've tried this with no result. Thanks for the reply.

Gazumped: I've reinstalled twice. The second time I did a search on my computer and found a lot of files left by Evernote even after the uninstall. Did a reinstall after deleting all the remaining Evernote files, but still have the same problem. Thanks for the reply.

• 2 weeks later...

On Windows 8 the shortcut is placed in Public desktop.

Go to C:\Users\Public\Desktop and delete it there and it will be removed from your user desktop as well. 

Desktop folder in Public may be hidden depending on your settings, if so go to C:\Users\Public and write \Desktop after Public. 

• Like 3
  • 2 weeks later...

I've had the same problem. Delete did not work (either from desktop, either from C:\Users\Public\Desktop).