Keeping track of tags

ETA I apologize if there's already a thread on this - I did a search and didn't come up with anything, but if this has been discussed to death, please just point me in the right direction. :)

I wonder if anyone has any advice for keeping track of how I'm tagging things in my Evernote database. I've been a casual Evernote user for a few years, but only recently started using Evernote pretty regularly to keep track of most of my reference material. I find that one huge barrier to me totally trusting Evernote is that I'm pretty bad of keeping track of my tags. I have a few different major categories of reference materials (recipes, knitting patterns / projects, coupons and promos for online shopping, receipts, etc), and I have set up tags for each one, but I find that I'm not very good at remembering what tags I've chosen for each type of note. For instance, say I'm looking at cookie recipes online and I clip several and tag them as "cookies." A few months later I might be looking at cookie recipes again (this is a lie, I look for cookie recipes every day), but I have trouble remembering whether I should tag them as "cookies" or "deserts" or something else. This either leads to me tagging them wrong or going on a trek through my database to figure out how I'm tagging cookie recipes so I can do it consistently. I find this annoying, which leads to me clipping a ton of things but sort of avoiding processing them, because I know it's going to be a pain in the neck. But that also means I'm not really using Evernote effectively. (An even worse problem, since I'm mostly using tags instead of notebooks, is remembering to include both specific and umbrella tags - like, I have to remember whether I should tag cookie recipe with both "cookies" and "recipes," or "deserts" and "recipes," or "cookies" and "deserts" and "recipes." Inevitably I ***** this up and my database gets all muddled.)