(Archived) Need some advice on organizing, tags and folders

I have been using Evernote for a while now. But I haven't used tags. I need some advice on whether I would benefit from them........

Back story: I am a pressure vessel inspector and I use Evernote to take down my notes and track each piece of equipment that I am involved with ie repairs, to do, etc.

Right now I have a notebook called Equipment. Then each piece of equipment gets its own note. For example:

Equipment:

090-T-31

071-T-15

Each time I add a note to a piece of equipment ,I put the date and time entered and the proceed with the text. See attached files. I figured out how to incorporate a todo list within the note (using the check box and saved search function). I would like to be able to also add them in different categories. For example, Some pieces of equipment need repairs. So it would also be combined in a repairs folder, or tag or whatever.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

post-171203-0-31971600-1388037685_thumb.

post-171203-0-95402500-1388037695_thumb.

post-171203-0-21781900-1388037703_thumb.

Tags are awesome because you can add more than one tag to any note.

In your case, each piece of equipment has its own single note, which you periodically append with new entries by date. You also wish to categorize each piece of equipment in perhaps more than one category. It makes perfect sense to use tags.

I had previously been using a number of notebooks in addition to tags. I've recently (as in, since yesterday!) reorganized my Evernote, moving all 1500+ notes into a single notebook, most (but not all) of which have at least one tag associated with it, and many of them with multiple tags. I've already found it much easier to work with, especially when creating a new note.