(Archived) New guy needs help

DanMoerman

I'm new to evernote.  I've been using it to rough out a paper.  On one device (win8), the full screen with three panels is shown. On my main devise (Win7), only the main window is open. On neither can I figure out how to display the substance of the note I've been working on. It's title shows up at the top of the main window (but no text); it shows up also in the left column listing all notes.  but I can't get it to "open" so I can continue to work on the text.  I'm sure this is kindergarden stuff, but I just can't make it work.  dm 

• Level 5*

Hi - do you have the toolbar at the top with "view" as an option?  You can switch panels on and off from there,  or if you doubleclick a note title it should open up in a new window to show you the contents.

Yes, I have a "view" option, but it does not offer me any way obvious  to open new windows. It has four options  Show note info, show editing toolbar, show status bar, and show note history. The first three are all checked. the fourth requires updating to a paid version.  

On my win 8 machine, I do have the three panels, including the one on the left listing brief subjects. I double clicked on it, and it did open a new window, but it is empty. Nothing to edit;

I'm not sure if I did the win8 > server > win7 dance, but the two do seem to be properly synced, with no text in a note I've been working on for 2 weeks. Is there a backup somewhere?  This is really a big problem for me.

• Level 5*

OK I'm confused - three panels is good,  and the right-hand panel should be the note content.  My (Premium) Views menu though has a lot of options.