(Archived) Having trouble creating Table of Contents

I am new to Evernote and saw this video on creating a "Table of Contents" in a note using Note Links.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D7oSS4i57MY&feature=player_embedded

From what I understand I need to get a Note Link by right-clicking on the note and selecting to Copy Note Link.

That is where I have a problem.  I don't see Copy Note Link as an option.

Is there another way to go about this?  I know I could just copy the link via the the Send menu, but that leave a long, ugly link instead of a true Table of Contents that titles the sections by the linked note name.

Thanks for the help!

• Level 5*

Which Evernote client are you using?

I am using the free version?  I'm not sure what you mean.  I'm on a PC (windows/internet explorer).  I also access it through the iPad app from time to time.

Hi. The "Table of Contents" is a little bit of a misnomer. You can create multiple note links at once. That is all. Of course, this can serve as a Table of Contents, but it is on you to gussy it up.

On the Windows client, I think you can open a note in a separate window (double click), select the notes you want to link in the middle column (CTRL + A to select everything), and drag those notes into the one in the separate window. Here is an example of what it looks like. See #2, which explains how I make what I call "index notes."

http://www.princeton.edu/~cmayo/evernote-organization.html

Only the Windows and Mac clients allow you to make note links. The mobile clients like the iPad cannot make them.

Hi. The "Table of Contents" is a little bit of a misnomer. You can create multiple note links at once. That is all. Of course, this can serve as a Table of Contents, but it is on you to gussy it up.