(Archived) Request OP date and last post date be shown in search results

Search of forum to see if there is already an answer to your "issue" would be much more helpful if the hits shown indicated the date of the thread; seems like an obvious aide to users.

EN seems to change quite frequently and for many features a discussion, an answer, a work around, that is more than 18 months old is likely to be of very little value, I realize in writing that sentence that what I'd want to see in the "hits" is the date of the OP, and then the date of the last post. Sometimes a member chooses to add to an older thread on a given topic/issue so as not to proliferate the forum with too many threads on the same thing, so the last post date is important data in deciding whether looking at a particular search hit is worth the effort.

I'm a newbie and value all of the valuable insights of forum people but getting to that information is often overly challenging. For me EN programmer's lack of thinking through what would help forum members is similar to my experience of all of the roadblocks and gotchas that one encounters trying to use EN.

• Level 5

You have a very valid point.

The Evernote Forum search is not your friend.

This forum program comes from a 3rd party, so it is up to Evernote to pass on our comments.

I have only seen two workaround solutions.

• The forum search is so poor that some of time users suggest opening another window and using a search engine to find your answer.
  • Other long time users actually save selected forum posts to their own Evernote account for better access.