(Archived) Never fisnished: no solid bug free releases

I have been using and been a Premium user of Evernote for almost 3 years.  I depend on Evernote, and use it on Windows and iPad. I also have begun using Skitch, Penultimate and Hello as well as several 3rd party iOS apps which integrate to Evernote (Fastever XL, FE Snap, vJournal, Clever HD, and Scanner Pro)

I love the capabilities of Evernote and its associated products.  I love the multi-platform approach. I appreciate like having all of my information available on any platform and online whenever and wherever I need it.  I love the 100 year approach for the future.

Here is my chief concern:

Evernote as a company has a philosophy of development which seems to have intentionally decided that it is better to continually add features to all of it's products BEFORE squashing the bugs in current versions.  I love new features, but because Evernote is so central to everything I do, I am extremely frustrated by this philosophy.  Let me elaborate.  Here is what it looks like from my perspective:

You release a new version of one of your products.  I has some bugs and or problems.  You then release an update which fixes/squashes some or most of the problems, but at the same time you add new features and create NEW bugs/problems.  Lather. rinse, repeat -- ad infinitum.

The result?  There is almost NEVER a fully functioning version of most of your products that users can depend on to be reliable and bug free.

To me, this is a flawed philosophy and I would love to see Evernote be more intentional in fixing bugs/problems BEFORE adding new features.

John Kaess

I have no want or need for Evernote Business, but I am hopeful that this direction by Evernote will change their philosophy of product development. I can't imagine that businesses will be willing to use a product that is always encumbered with bugs and problems and never available as a solid bug free program,

• Level 5*