(Archived) Using evernote without tags, notebooks or any organization at all?

I'm new to evernote. I signed up a couple years ago when a friend shared a notebook with me but I didn't see it as anything different than google docs or dropbox. I recently found it again when I was looking for a final fix to my receipt management issues. I am blown away with the OCR indexing system. It's awesome. The thing I'm now wondering about is why organize evernote? I've been reading blogs about "spending time when I get home" to organize notes and notebooks and I'm just wondering, why? It seems that everything I put in can be found via a search of some sort. I do understand the use of notebooks for sharing info with others but why can't everything else just go into this wonderful bottom less circular organizer? Any thoughts?

• Level 5

Evernote is very flexibile. You can throw everything into Evernote with no organization and probably find 75% to 80% of the stuff you are looking for.

Or spend some time reviewing the posts on this forum to get a better understanding why Tags, Structured Titles, Notebooks, and keywords all enhance the Evernote experience.

Here are some specific examples that can be applied to other use cases.

Try to search for "Barack Obama" in web clippings. Some will have him listed as Barack Obama, others as President Obama, others as POTUS, or even just the White House. A tag for Obama will bring up all these variations. A raw search will not. And if you try to narrow the choice from the full name to just his last name, you start bringing in search results for Michelle Obama.

Take another politician - the late "Moammar Gaddafi". A raw search for his name will not bring up all the different spellings for his name (depending on the publication's preferred spelling). I have seen 5 different spellings.

"Moammar Gaddafi"

"Muammar Gaddafi"

"Moammar Gadhafi"

"Muammar el-Qaddafi"

"Muammar al-Gaddafi"

Search for one version and miss the other versions.