(Archived) Search Problems: Japanese in quotation marks

• Level 5*

Have we always been unable to search for Japanese in quotation marks and English together?

(1) Japanese + English

Web: 田原 tawara = 49 hits

Web: "田原" tawara = 0 hits

iOS: 田原 tawara = 49 hits

iOS: "田原" tawara = 0 hits

(2) Japanese only

Web: 田原 = 665

Web: "田原" = 132

iOS:田原 = 665

iOS: "田原" = 132

The problem here, as the search numbers suggest, is that without the quotation marks we have to search for every instance of each character. This is the equivalent of looking for every instance of "t", "w", and "o" in your account when you look for "two". So, I put the Japanese in quotation marks to focus the searches. That still results in a lot of hits. By pairing the Japanese with English I can focus the searches even more to stuff that I have written. On the iPad, though, it pays to further restrict your search results, but trying to do this with quotation marks fails.

Maybe I have never tried this before, but it seems to me that quotation marks around a term in any language + and english word ought to work the same as quotation marks around an English word or phrase + an English word.

I will test this on Mac and Windows sometime when I have a chance.

• Level 5*

This is not at all what I expected... What is happening with the searches? I hope someone can explain to me why I get such wildly different search results. Which one of these is "correct"?

(1) Japanese + English

Windows: 田原 tawara = 51 hits

Mac: 田原 tawara = 51 hits

Windows: "田原" tawara = 58 hits

Mac: "田原" tawara = 51 hits

(2) Japanese only

Web: 田原 = 665

iOS:田原 = 665

Windows: 田原 = 667

Mac: 田原 = 665

Web: "田原" = 132

iOS: "田原" = 132

Windows: "田原" = 1234

Mac: "田原" = 665

• Level 5

Totally off topic, and I don't want to downplay the importance of the search problem, but

1.) the Japanese symbols look like a Window followed by the Hangman game.

2.) Google translate comes up with tahara as the English translation of 田原