(Archived) When filtering by tag, please add that tag when I create a new note

mrgoerend

Idea

If I've filtered my notes by tag (especially when clicking my tag shortcut to pull them up) and I create a new note in that view, please add the tag that I've filtered.

Example: I have a tag called "missing work" (I'm a teacher). When I've filtered for those notes and I hit command-n, I'd like my new note to already have "missing work" as the tag.

15 replies to this idea

• Level 5

I have found Evernote copy feature works well.

It will copy the tags from the original note.

After copying, I hit Ctrl + A, then delete for a clean new note using all the old tags.

I have found Evernote copy feature works well.

It will copy the tags from the original note.

After copying, I hit Ctrl + A, then delete for a clean new note using all the old tags.

Hm. That's a good work around, but more steps than I'm looking for.

If I'm in a Notebook and I hit command-n, it creates a new note in that Notebook. I'm just asking for the same if I'm "in" a tag.

Good point.

Personally, I feel that Tags are metadata and not data containers.

Can you tell me more about that? Give me examples of how you do use and how you don't see them being used.

Here's my use case: I have a Notebook called "Students 2012-2013" where I keep notes about student work (exemplars, etc.), rosters to quickly create a checklist when collecting stuff, and some other "student related" stuff (allergy notices, etc.)

When I collect an assignment, I make a note tagged "missing work" then I create a To Do box for each student who didn't turn the assignment in that way I know who's missing it and I can check it off when I've talked to them about it (I strike through their name when they've turned it in). Then I have my "missing work" tag in my shortcuts (command-2, thanks for that tip) so I can quickly access those notes to have conversations with students.