Jump to content

(Archived) If You Delete A Note Does It Still Take Up Your Allowance?


Recommended Posts

Hi All,

So the scenario, I create a note and upload a photo.

Then I change my mind and delete the note, but it is still in the 'Trash' folder. Does it still take up space from my 'allowance'? Or does it need to be deleted from the 'Trash' folder as well?

Thanks for your help.

Best regards

Chris

Link to post
  • Level 5*
So the scenario, I create a note and upload a photo.

You can stop here in the scenario. At this point you already used your "upload allowance" to upload the photo. It has already been counted. If you move it around in your account to the trash or another notebook, it won't matter. The only thing that will matter is if you modify the photo by editing it, rotating it, etc. That will require another upload. So, if you upload a 2MB photo, it will cost 2 MB of your upload allowance. If you then rename it, it will cost nothing more. If you rotate it, it will cost another 2MB.

Link to post
  • Level 5*

Hi - your 'allowance' is spent when you upload a note, not when it's there on the server; so just having the note in the trash isn't affecting your allowance, but if you really, really don't need that note any more it makes sense to clear the trash to streamline your account and slim down the database. Things won't be noticeably quicker for the removal of one note, but it's good policy. The trash folder is just a final safeguard against fat finger (or head) syndrome.

Edit: Oops - snap!

Link to post

Thanks guys.

Poor description by me. I shouldn't have said 'upload'! But 'transfer' into a new note, all carried out on the desktop!

I think gazumped description may be the answer and that is, if I delete it before a synch then it won't affect my 'allowance'.

Yes, I am not that good of deleting from the 'trash' must get more proficient at that job!

Best regards

Chris

Link to post
  • Level 5*

Thanks guys.

Poor description by me. I shouldn't have said 'upload'! But 'transfer' into a new note, all carried out on the desktop!

I think gazumped description may be the answer and that is, if I delete it before a synch then it won't affect my 'allowance'.

Yes, I am not that good of deleting from the 'trash' must get more proficient at that job!

Best regards

Chris

I have not tested this, so you'll want to try it yourself to be sure, but I am pretty sure that if a note is made, deleted, left in the trash, and you sync, then that note will be in the trash, and will not sync to your account. Your upload allowance may show less, but that is actually just an estimate, and deleting the note from your trash will solve the problem. In other words, a GUID will not be assigned until a note outside the Trash is synced, and until a note gets a GUID, it is Schrodinger's Cat -- it will only temporarily count against your allowance until you make a decision to keep it or kill it.

This is all speculation, though.

Link to post

Thanks GrumpyMonkey,

I having to guess what on earth a Schrodinger's Cat is! But it is good for a laugh!

As it happens I have never even remotely got near my allowance limit, but it is good to know the answer. Maybe, as you say, it is a worth an experiment.

Best regards

Chris

Link to post
  • 2 weeks later...

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Guest
This topic is now closed to further replies.
×
×
  • Create New...