Any way to Insert url's with custom link text?

Howdy,

I am new to Evernote and have found it really useful, particularly for things like keeping web clippings handy while putting together a new computer. There is one bit of functionality that I haven't yet quite figured out. I can't figure out how to manually add links.

I can paste in the URL it will make a clickable link that will open that web page, but I cannot find a way to create an HTML style link. What I get is links that look like "http://discussion.evernote.com/" rather than what I want which is a link that looks like "Evernote Forum" and goes to that URL. I have used the web clipper stuff to paste in a few links but when I try to add to the list I am having some trouble. Any tips or suggestions would be greatly appreciated, thanks!

• Level 5

Occasionally, I will re-write the URL link for clarity. There might be an easier way, but I first paste the URL then overtype all of the link except for the last character with the text I actually want to see. Then I remove the last original character.

For example, in Evernote I will change this URL

http://blog.evernote...ow-to-use-them/

to this more understandable link:

This is a link to Evernote's blog on how to use Note Links

Hi Tapar, welcome to the forum :)

This is possible, though it depends on which client you are using.

In the web client:

- Type your text (eg Evernote Forum)

- Highlight the text

- Click the link button (next to the bullet list button)

- Paste the link into the box that appears

In the Windows Client:

- Type your text (eg Evernote Forum)

- Highlight the text

- Right click the text

- Select "Hyperlink" - "Add"

I think the process would be similar on a mac, not sure about the other (Mobile) clients

Scott

Thank you both, I was able to do what I wanted using either method. I appreciate the tips, I knew there had to be trick I was missing. :)

You're welcome :)