(Archived) How did you start using Evernote?

There is a lot of talk around updates, issues, how-tos, and the like, but I wanted to take a moment and go back to the beginning and ask, how did you start using Evernote?

For me, I started using Evernote to make daily to-do lists. I'm currently a college student, so things get pretty hectic during the school year. At one point, I was jotting down to-do's on post-its, in my agenda, on my phone, on my Mac dashboard, in my journal, etc. At one point, I had enough. I just wanted everything in one place. *Cue Evernote :) Once I started using Evernote to make lists, I discovered more and more ways to use it in other areas of life like clipping articles from the Web to keep track of research and saving images of craft or gift ideas.

I feel like we each have a story behind our Evernotes. What's yours?

• Level 5*

I try out lots of software in my constant search to be the Laziest Person on the Planet. I first tried Evernote ages ago - not sure how long, but it was a portable version - to compare with various other personal databases I used. No disrespect to Evernote, but my kind of a quick trial was pretty cursory - if a major attraction didn't stand up and sing to me when I poked and prodded, I back-burnered the app until "I have more time" (ie never). I got through lots of back-burners. Then I took a good long look at my existing 'external brain' which was a library of files on shelves, a couple of filing cabinets and an increasing number of boxes on floors, not to mention a few piles of books and press cuttings and some taller piles of papers that I hadn't had time to cut the cuttings out of yet.. Something Had to Be Done.

I dusted off the various databases I'd looked at and dismissed most of them as too clunky to shovel a volume of paper into quickly. Evernote however had all these dandy add-ons to import different formats, and OCR, and would OCR pictures as well as documents... did I hear singing?