Getting an error: "This note was created in another application"

mattchoo

Hi there,

I'm new to Evernote. I just recently imported my notes from SimpleNote, then spent 2 hours organizing and tagging my notes... it wasn't until I was finished and wanted to edit one of the notes that I got the following message:

file:///C:/Users/mattchoo/AppData/Local/Temp/enhtmlclip/ScreenClip.png

"This note was created in another application. To edit this note, open it in the app where it was created."

How do I make these notes editable?? It seems silly to have imported them and not be able to do what I want with them, and to have to continue using Simplenote to edit these!

Thanks!

mattchoo

post-95433-0-28585100-1338983024_thumb.p

How did you import your notes? If they show up as attachments in a note (IE an icon), then yes, you need a third party app to edit the file. That's how EN handles files like Word documents, Excel, images, audio & video files.

If you copied/pasted text into the notes, you should have no problem editing the notes.

• Level 5

I'm not familiar with that service, but it sounds like they're setting the note's contentClass attribute. As described at the link below, this will effectively make the note read-only since the Windows client only has native support for two content classes (Evernote Food and Evernote Hello):

http://dev.evernote.com/documentation/cloud/chapters/Read_Only_Notes.php

You should probably contact the developer to see if this is intentional.

Shoot. I wouldn't have used that service if I had known.

I don't think the developer is actually maintaining that service, so I don't think it's useful to contact him.

Do you know of any way to change the flag/attribute after the fact? I reeeeeally don't want to have to redo all this manually...

If the issue is contentClass, you can change it in the enml. You could export, open it in a text editor and then re-import, but that is a bit manual as well

• 1 month later...