(Archived) HOWTO: Editing spreadsheets on iPad

ymenyn

Hi, I am very new to Evernote but think it is great so I would like to make the most of it. I use spreadsheets to keep my budgets on, I can view these on my iPad but was wondering if I could edit the spreadsheet on the iPad the same as I can on my laptop. I have hunted everywhere for an answer before writing this but don't seem to be able to find one. At the moment I am only using the free version but would gladly upgrade if it meant I would be able to edit the spreadsheets. If anyone could point me in the right direction to find the answer I would be very grateful. Many thanks in advance.

• Level 5*

hi. welcome to the forums! you won't find this talked about much because it is something that evernote does not do. evernote doesn't edit excel, word, etc. it only stores them. when you open the files on your laptop, you are using (perhaps, without your knowledge) microsoft office (or, whatever application you have installed) to do it. on the ipad, you probably don't have these installed, so you cannot edit the spreadsheets.

the solution? install an app and you can do it. there is only one that i know of, though, that can open the document, edit it, and save it in the same note on the ipad:

http://blog.evernote.com/2011/09/09/trunk-spotlight-quickoffice-pro-hd-lets-you-do-more-with-your-files-in-evernote-back-to-school-series/

If you're using a true spreadsheet (not an Evernote table), you will need a spreadsheet app. I use Quickoffice. But for iOS use, I think you're better served using something like Dropbox/Sugar Sync for your spreadsheet, rather than putting it into EN.

• Level 5*

If you're using a true spreadsheet (not an Evernote table), you will need a spreadsheet app. I use Quickoffice. But for iOS use, I think you're better served using something like Dropbox/Sugar Sync for your spreadsheet, rather than putting it into EN.