(Archived) Interview with Phil Libin, CEO in NYT

Very interesting, thanks for posting :)

I like that everyone is encouraged to actually communicate in person, and that everyone is encouraged to understand what the other departments do. That seems like quite a forward thinking idea, especially in a time where communication is less and less in person.

It’s got a laser pointer, so you can shoot lasers, which is just good design. You shouldn’t build a robot without a laser.

Agreed. Lasers are essential, though I am a physics student, so maybe I am a little biased. :P

• Level 5*

Cool article. Evernoted. Phil, you can have my phone (my personal belief is that phones are tyrannical devices, particularly at work). I should also note that both the Chrome clipper and Clearly nailed the article selection...

I've been using EN for around 10 days and find it incredibly useful. It is a very impressive program. Then today, while reading The Times, I saw and read the interview with Phil Libin. Now I'm equally impressed with what appears to be a very enlightened corporate philosophy.

• Level 5*

The problem that I have with discarding email and those convoluted email discussions is that -- as opposed to face-to-face communications -- the results can be captured and turned into useful documents (requirements, documentation, etc.). With conversations (and those are encouraged here where I work, too, though not mandated), each interaction is a potential piece of the puzzle, but also a personal possibility of misremembering exactly what was said or agreed upon.