(Archived) A question about the future

Caul

Idea

Hello,

I've been using Evernote with a Premium account for a couple of years now. It does what it does well enough, but new features are trickling slowly and I wonder if I'm waiting for something that will never happen: a portable note-taking system with easy cross-referencing between notes, wiki-style.

So I'm posting this here in the hope that a staff member will say that great stuff lies ahead, or that someone will point out a system that corresponds to the following requirements (almost all of which are already Evernote features):

• Quick & easy snippet clipping, including rich text, PDF & images
  • View & edit anywhere (Mac, Windows, iOS/Android + Web access)
  • Offline access
  • Dead-simple and automatic syncing
  • Reasonable traffic & storage for fairly-priced premium accounts
  • (Multi)Markdown support
  • Easy cross-linking, mediawiki-style

The last two points are what made me look elsewhere this last week. I've looked at DevonThink Pro, Scrivener, Notational Velocity (& nvAlt), TiddlyWiki as well as Springpad.

By "easy cross-linking", I mean being able to type, inside a note, something like "Source: [[2010 Paper]] p. 20", have a "dead" link appear in my note (when exiting Edit mode), and then being able to create a new note called "2010 Paper" by clicking on the link. I find the Evernote way of implementing note links better than nothing, but it very cumbersome to use, especially with large notebooks and several stacks. It constantly interferes with the writing and research flow.