Tagging reference items by AoR

Roue

This question is from the perspective of setting up The Secret Weapon (.org) but is a valid question for all/most of the evernote + GTD implementations I have seen.

I am mind-stuck at the point where you start your initial processing of the mass of stuff in Action Pending, after the big dump from OneNote and email.

I want to tag my (cabinet/archive/reference) by Area of Responsibility, initially just Home and Office/work. Should I use @Home and @Work or keep those reserved for GTD flow and make new “Home” and “work” tags for archiving (cabinet)?

There is the option of home and work notebooks but not using tags feels like taking a step backward.

Roue - Great question. I use AoR tags such as @home, @office, @blog for my todo items, but for reference items, I have a master tags such as .01 Home, .02 Work, .03 Recipes, .04 Reference, .05 Stuff. Under each of those parent tags are tags related to those. In other words, none of those master tags actually have any notes associated with them. They're merely there as "place holders". I'm up for being convinced otherwise! Take a look here. Let me know and thanks for the great question!

Roue, I haven't watched secretweapon.org stuff so I don't know what's suggested there but...

I'm not saying that it's not possible or even a bad idea to use Evernote for everything but I personally use a separate tool to manage actionable data, i.e. actions and projects, start and due dates and etc. I can do it all in Evernote but there is no reason or advantage in doing so in my view. The ways we need to interact and organize actionable and non actionable data are different so using a single interface to do so leads to compromises and no real benefits when you can just use different apps on a single mobile device and still keep all information linked.

I wrote about how I personally organize stuff in evernote here