(Archived) New Evernote user hoping for tips / advice

Hi all,

I am new to Evernote. Currently have it installed on my PC with clipper and on my iPad. Currently I have been maintaining some items I would like to remember in tabbed Excel workbook and I am currently comparing Evernote, Springpad, Wunderlist and a couple of other to do type apps in how they might help me do away with this workbook in a more efficient and easier way. I like what I see in Evernote so far but I'm just not sure I am completely seeing what it can do for me in this respect and I am hoping to solicit the advice of all of you knowledgeable, experienced Evernote users. Currently I have tabs in the workbook (or multiple workbooks) for:

- Product comparisons: I like to research things before I buy. This can be anything from a toaster oven to a security system to a standby generator. Within this sheet I have many different products I am currently comparing. For example - I might label the first cell with 'Security System' and then label column headers across the same row with the make / model of each item I am comparing. The next 10 rows (in the first column under 'Security System' would be labeled with different features, price, vendor, warranty etc I am comparing. I then just fill in the cells for each system or item I am looking at.

- Music tracks I would like to get - with columns for artist, song, album, where available (is it available on emusic for example) and note. Further down the same sheet I simply list favorite artists that I tend to like to track regardless of track.

- Shop list - this is essentially a list of specific items I would like to purchase - already identified with make, model, price, vendor etc

- Personal to do list - this is a simple list of things I'd like to get down but never seem to have the time for