(Archived) Bugbears and suggestions for improvement [Search, Undo, Export, View, Login, Clipper]

madra

Idea

Hi All.

I'm a recent convert to Evernote and am loving it so far. However, as I've been using it quite intensely over the past few weeks, "throwing my digital life into it" I've been coming across one or two annoyances, which are slightly spoiling the fun for me. As I said, I'm a newbie to Evernote, so some of these may be down to user error –if so, please point out the error of my ways– but, if not, here are some areas the developers might want to look at.

SEARCHING:

Sometimes I mistakenly type a search term into the main search box, whilst I have one of my notebooks selected in the Notebooks panel. This obviously restricts the search to only that notebook. If I then click on "All notebooks" in the Notebooks panel, the search term is wiped and I have to re-enter it. Really irritating!

Also, the system of having to call up a second search window to search within a selected document is unnecessarily confusing. This is compounded by the fact that, when summoned, this search box shares the same general screen location as the main search box, the note title and the author panel, [if "Show extended note info" is selected]. Many times, albeit while not paying as as much attention as I should! I've accidentally typed a search query into the note title panel by mistake. If I notice this before I hit Return, all is not lost; I can CMD+Z to undo. However, if I've hit return, focus switches to the main note content panel itself and CMD+Z is no longer available if I switch back to the note title panel.

SUGGESTION:

1: Take a look at how searching is implemented in OSX Finder, where a search term can be broadened or narrowed by means selecting the appropriate button in the search pane.

2: Provide a single univeral searchbox with options to refine the scope of that search, rather than requiring different search boxes.

Which brings me on to…

UNDOING: