Canon P-150M vs Fujitsu ScanSnap S1300

mlykke

Hi

I've been using Evernote for a few years and I'm in the process of really cleaning up my life, which means I'm looking to go 100% paperless.

For that I need a documentscanner but unfortunately most of them are two expensive for my current budget so it seems I have narrowed it down to either the Canon P-150M(I'm a Mac user, hence the M version) or the Fujitsu ScanSnap S1300 - The price is almost identical in my country so thats not an issue.

I've read a few reviews on them but none of them are really thorough so the only thing i can conclude at the moment is that the Canon looks better when looking at the specs - Twice the scanning speed, TWAIN compatible, double ADF capacity, can scan a wider range of paperstocks but besides that I can't really figure out which one is the best so any input would be greatly appreciated.

I'm curious about the quality of the scans(Both for documents and images), the ease of use, how good the ADF is, the ability to correct crooked scans etc. Especially if there is something that indicates the S1300 to be the right choice - The specs says otherwise but the specs are only part of the truth :)

I've also just noticed the existence of the Epson GT-1500 in the same price range - Anybody have experience with that?

• Level 5*

No experience of the models you mention (sorry) but I do use a ScanSnap 1500, and I'd say the build quality and software integration is 100%. It scans everything from flimsy fax thermo paper to thick card without a hiccup. I'd be lost without it, and it gets more attention than the car these days - dusting the sensors, cleaning the optics, vacuuming the paper runs. (Old paperwork is dusty)