(Archived) Search in Evernote

Hi, I'm new to Evernote. I have saved a number of notes using the following format: 2011_10_29_this_is_my_saved_note.pdf. When I search for the word "this" (for example), I don't get any results. So it's not searching the title of the saved note. I figure I must be doing something wrong. Can anyone help me to search the titles of my saved notes? Thank you.

Evernote does not search for arbitrary character sequences in notes. A "word" consists of letters, numbers & the underscore. So your title of 2011_10_29_this_is_my_saved_note is considered one word. If you had named your file 20111029 this is my saved note.pdf & then added it to Evernote, the title would then be defaulted to the name of the file. Then you could do ta search on the lines of this;

intitle:20111029

And you would find your note. You could narrow your search like this:

intitle:20111029 my note

which searches for all notes with 20111029 in the title and contains the words "my" and "note" in either the title or the body of the note.

Okay that answers my question. So do you consider an effective title to be "2011 10 29 this is my note"? Also, i did a search for a word that was in the document (is this feature only possible with OCR turned on?). It found a document with that word, but it did not highlight it. Do I need to turn on highlighting? Thank you! Todd

• Level 5*

hi todd. i don't see any point in having the spaces. as i mentioned in your other thread, 111029 is perfectly sufficient. fewer characters to type, and it is distinguished from any instances of 2011, 10, or 29. because pretty much all of the notes i make follow this format (there are exceptions related to my field of research), i can type in a date in this format for any period over the last few years and immediately find notes, pdfs, receipts, etc. generated that day. i think it is a handy way of labeling.