(Archived) Missing Something Simple for Changes?

MonkeyTime

I'm fairly new to EN, but enjoying it and catching up quickly. But I'm not sure if I'm missing a simple thing here or if there is a fault in what I'm trying to accomplish.

I have a folder set for importing, and in that folder I have a single excel spreadsheet. I can make changes on the computer and sync and everything works fine. These changes can be seen on my phone with no problem.

However, when I make changes to the file from my phone and I try to save it, I'm given the option to save or save as. It seems that either of those options save the file as a new file on my phone. I can then find that file on my phone and upload it as a new note, but not save it to the existing note.

This would be fine, but I then have the old and new files and notes in EN.

Is there a way to open a document from EN on a phone, alter it, and save that back to the original note?

Thanks in advance,

• Level 5*

Files that are embedded in notes are part of the Evernote database. If you have separate files on your phone or computer they will not be synced with the database unless you manually sync them. If you open a file from Evernote and then save it normally, the embedded note will automatically be updated.

It's a red herring to have a file permanently in the import folder - I suggest you set the options to delete a file once it has been imported. If you are changing that file via your phone, then changing the file in the folder and importing it again, you are losing the changes you made by phone. Better to keep one file in Evernote and change only that file.

Ok, I think we are on the same page, almost. I left the settings as default when I linked the folder, and that was set to leave the file after syncing. I guess I figured that it would sync that folder on the 15 minute schedule. I may play with that both ways to see the differences.